SHE SAID: Denim

I have long had a love affair with denim.  Jeans, to be more specific.  In the winter, I wear them every day, which is saying a lot since I live where winter lasts about 8 months.  There is nothing sexier to me than a guy in jeans and a T-shirt if he can pull it off, and I love wearing the same.

When I first went to boarding school, my friend Gusty introduced me to the idea that jeans could have different fits.  We were skiers and had legs on the bigger side – the relaxed fit from the Gap was the jean of choice, thankfully peg rolling was out at this point.

Chip and Pepper, Sevens, Citizens, William Rast, Joe’s Jeans, Earnest Sewn,  Rich and Skinny, J Brand, Paige, Current/Elliot, True Religion … these are works of art to me.  Some of them can even create the illusion that I actually have an ass.  I have been with friends who are ecstatic when they try on a pair of jeans that enhances their body.  It’s a superficial thing, I’ll be the first to admit, but it’s so great to feel like you’re looking good.

The first time I tried on a pair of True Religions, I was in New York with my sister.  I had never felt so hot in anything in my life.  It felt awesome – those jeans were sold.  My sister watched me checking myself out for a few minutes, then pulled the sales associate aside and asked for the “real” mirrors.  There was a small standoff and a few minutes later we were standing in the back office of the store with an accurate mirror.  I still loved the jeans, although they definitely didn’t look nearly as slimming.

The downside?  A pair of Levis or Gap jeans sell for $40 – $60 and  I feel like it’s a steal if I find one of the designer pair for under $200.

Because of this, I operate under the theory of a dear friend’s mom: Price Per Wearing.  If I buy a pair of $200 jeans and I wear them twice, we’re already down to $100 per wearing.  Now just figure if I wear them for 200 days (completely possible given my penchant for denim).  Those jeans only cost $1 every time I wear them.

The theory is a stretch, but I embrace it because it makes me feel less insane.

2 Responses to SHE SAID: Denim

  1. Marina says:

    Ha! “Real” mirrors…what a scary concept.

  2. JP says:

    Last night I was in Burlington wearing my favorite pair of jeans. Well, my ex-favorite pair I guess because this morning I woke up and they are ripped to shreds. It looks like someone grabbed the back pocket and just yanked all the way down to the back of my knee. Bummer. Back to this post… $200 jeans. Not a chance. It’s either $45 at The Gap or +$300 for the fancy stuff. Nice try. I’m not 100% sure on this but Dykster knows. I’ll check with him.

Leave a Reply

