HE SAID: SNL (and a little Karate Kid)

kenanthompson_performs_in_saturdaynightlive_on_nbc_2007This is not groundbreaking news – but Saturday Night Live, for all intents and purposes, has become possibly the worst television show that is not aired on the UPN.  It is rare that I am actually home on a Saturday evening, which is great, because it means I get to DVR SNL, so I can fast forward all the bad skits.  Well, guess what, I’m done wasting that precious space on my DVR (as you know, Soap reruns of BH 90210 take up somewhat of a decent sized volume), because it has gotten to the point where I’m fast forwarding just about every fucking skit.  With the exception of Mark Wahlberg talking to animals and dick-in-a-box, I can’t come up with another skit that forced more than a chuckle out of my mouth.

I really don’t know how it’s become this bad.  My parent’s generation would say that SNL has been awful since the 80’s when people like Eddie Murphy were still on it.  I mean, I agree that the 90’s with Farley/Spade/McDonald/Sandler were not as good, but they were still watchable, and extremely funny much of the time.  But the cliff SNL has fallen off the last decade is almost unprecedented.  I say ‘almost’ because it has happened.  The Karate Kid Franchise has followed much of the same path as SNL.

karate3_iThink about it…Karate Kid 1 was like the 70s – just about flawless.  Karate Kid 2 (where Daniel San and his gay older lover, er, karate instructor, Mr. Miyagi go to Okinawa) was still very entertaining, as was SNL in the 80’s, but it wasn’t quite up to the standards of the original.  Karate Kid 3 and the 90’s of SNL had their moments (John Kreese faking his death, the ‘van down by the river’ skit to name a couple), yet you could tell it was on a road to nowhere good.  Then Karate Kid 4 came along, where Miyagi became a bisexual instructor and took on Hilary Swank, who by the way, went on to star in 90210 and of course, win an oscar.  This, much like SNL the past decade, was a complete and total disaster.

The only thing that could make either worse would be to continue.  It would not surprise me to see SNL continue, because it still does fairly well ratings wise considering its time slot.  But there is no way Karate Kid will continue, right? I mean, Will Smith would never produce a remake with his 11-year old son playing the part of Daniel or Jackie Chan as Miyagi, right?

6 Responses to HE SAID: SNL (and a little Karate Kid)

  1. hesaidandshesaid says:

    come on, this is creative and funny (thanks rachel and lucas): http://www.videosift.com/video/SNL-ad-Chess-for-Girls

  2. SNL goes up and down in quality and always has. There’s a reason that the reruns on cable are only an hour long. Even in its heyday, there was a pretty high ration of clunkers:classics.

    I’ve watched since the very first episode (live), back in 1975. At the time it was utterly unique. So the rough patches didn’t matter. After the whole first cast left, the show nosedived. And when Eddie Murphy and Joe Piscopo arrived, it had a rebirth. Then, just about everybody left again, and it tanked again.

    Since then, there haven’t been as many mass exoduses, but the quality has always ebbed and flowed. The year with Chris Elliot was terrible. The first year with Molly Shannon and Cheri Oteri was awful too.

    If the cold open, the monologue and Weekend Update are funny, the whole show feels “good.” If one or more of those tanks, the show is a dud. Just about the only “funny all the way through” show they ever had was the first guest appearance by Roseanne.

    I still watch almost every week. And I feel like you do much of the time. And then there will be Tina Fey as Sarah Palin, or something equally brilliant, and I feel vindicated.

    SNL has always been a blend of “cursed by awesome” and “blessed by suck.” Even the classic years, watched with a critical eye, are not 100% comic brilliance.

  3. kb says:

    Jeremy I agree, I can’t watch SNL without thinking “seriously, this is the best they had?!!?” Also, the mother-lover song is not funny. there, I said it.

  4. […] of SNL this weekend.  That was enough incentive for me to watch it, but I can’t speak for Jeremy. Despite her not being on Facebook, the campaign to get Betty White to host SNL that was started on […]

  5. […] I’ve touched on this before, but now that “K-Day” is actually just about here, I need to vent.  How can […]

  6. […] I’ve touched on this before, but now that “K-Day” is actually just about here, I need to vent.  How can someone in […]

Leave a Reply

