SHE SAID: SNL (and no Karate Kid)

I’m going to challenge you on your worst television show line.  The “Real Housewives…” series makes me want to rip my fingernails off and there are even fewer redeeming moments than SNL.

Given your busy internet dating schedule, I’m glad you’re able to keep up with the skits on SNL.  I don’t know if you were able to catch any of the skits from about August to November of 2008, but they were hysterical and also not in the 70’s.  In fact, there is a belief that this skit was the turning point in Palin’s tryst with the American public. More people viewed the skit of Tina Fey and Amy Poehler doing their rendition of the Katie Couric interview than the actual interview.  At times, I was pretty sure the Republican party had nominated Palin to the ticket to provide more comedic material for Lorne Michaels et al.  He had to create a Thursday night show for Weekend Edition because they had that much material!  SNL has had such an impact on not only this past election, but politics in general that a phrase was coined: The SNL Effect.

After the 2008 election, I’m going to agree with you that the show tanked, or at the very least, lost Tina Fey and quickly resumed mostly stinking.  However, I think it’s still worth watching, only because with a revolving cast and it’s sometimes witty and comedic commentary on current events, it’s worthy of the DVR slot.  Or, just random hilarity, as evidenced by current cast members like Andy Samberg’s music videos and Kristen Wiig’s physical comedy.

I can’t really respond to the whole Karate Kid bit only because I have never watched any of those movies.  Sounds like I should have watched the first one instead of the first hour of Forrest Gump.  But I will steal a line from Reality Bites and say that SNL is like pizza and sex: even when it’s bad, it’s still good.

3 Responses to SHE SAID: SNL (and no Karate Kid)

  1. hesaidandshesaid says:

    Nifer – Jeremy here…you are totally right. COmpletely spaced on how good the political stuff was. So while that was entertaining, it wasn’t original. it didnt show good writing by the SNL staff, so i guess im still standing by my point that it has fallen off a cliff…the same cliff im going to push will smith off if this karate kid bullshit happens.

  2. JP says:

    “Keith Ragu?”
    “Joe Geronimo?”
    “Breakdance Fountain?”
    The “Mom Celebrity Translator?”
    SNL!

  3. […] I’m sure you heard Betty White was the host of SNL this weekend.  That was enough incentive for me to watch it, but I can’t speak for Jeremy. Despite her not being on Facebook, the campaign to get Betty […]

Leave a Reply

