SHE SAID: Rock Band

We had a Nintendo Gaming Console while I was growing up and there was a short span of time after I mistakenly skied through a fence while experimenting with exactly how much air I could get off of a jump and not focusing enough on direction in relation to that air, when I had two broken wrists.  Suddenly, since I couldn’t do much of anything other than work the NEC controller, I was playing a lot of Super Mario Brothers and actually had enough free time and limited enough mobility to invest the time into finding all the secret hidden stuff in the levels.  It was during this period of time that I also discovered that I can move six of my ten toes independently of the others, which is always a fun party trick.  Anyway, other than that short foray into video games, I haven’t spent much time playing, and I was bored by my friends who were enamored with them.

So when my 55 year old friend brought Guitar Hero, that she had confiscated from her son as a disciplinary measure, to a hockey tournament, I wasn’t excited.  Still wasn’t excited when the rave reviews were pouring out later that night at dinner.  Once I found out there was beer in her room, I found myself watching two friends duel it out.

To say I was hooked on Guitar Hero would be an understatement.  I was like Keith Richards with his first 8 ball, Angelina Jolie in an unsupervised orphanage, Buster Bluth with access to juice.

But it was just for a weekend.  I returned home to my video-game-free house and that was it.  I quit cold turkey.

Until I discovered Rock Band.

rock_band

Rock Band has two guitars AND drums AND vocals.  You are an entire band (minus keyboards, the horn section, tambourine and the back up singers, but a band nonetheless).  A band that can support each other, bring dismissed players back into the fold by stepping up the energy level of performance, and work together for the greater good: seriously rocking out.

For a few brief moments, or an entire evening, my mediocrely musically inclined friends and I can get lost in the dream of our youth.  Because let’s be real, although we might not have had Tiger Beat mug shots lining our walls (it wasn’t out yet), we all either crushed on, or wanted to be, a rock star.

I still don’t own a video game,but I’m hooked, more so than my cheap tryst with Guitar Hero and I have found myself googling Rock Band … just to window shop.  I would probably have to get a bigger TV, or at least one that you could see something on from 6 feet away, so I build that into the expense.  And so far that’s kept me from purchasing the entire package.  But I still dream about it.

Leave a Reply

