HE SAID: Wal-Mart

Geeze, what’s with us and our bitterness since we have started posting again.  First me with my plane antics, now you with Wal-Mart.  But I can’t harp on you for hating Wal-Mart, because I hate it too.  However, I have purchased things from there before and that fact does not keep me up at night.

I have over 150 DVDs, and I’d say about 20 of them came from the $4.99 bin at Wal-Mart. These include both Point Break & Aspen Extreme, so I think I did well there.  I also bought a pair of velcro sneakers there to complete a costume in college once.  And I’m sure there were a few other purchases during my camp years to change my rustic cabin into a second home, complete with a fan, TV and Nintento 64.

That being said, do I do my general shopping at Wal-Mart, absolutely not.  In fact, I don’t think I’ve even been since my last summer at camp five years ago.  However, as heinous and evil as I find that place, I also believe it is a necessary evil.

To me, Wal-Mart is no different in our culture than McDonalds, another place that I have stayed away from, especially since moving to Vermont.  What many people don’t realize about McDonalds is many people eat there because it’s all they can afford.  People need a certain amount of caloric intake a day to survive, and unfortunately even the cheapest of groceries are still more expensive than McDonalds.  It’s the same concept as those that shop at Wal-Mart…you can’t ask someone to go buy a winter jacket at the local mom & pop shop for $200 when they can get one at Wal-Mart for $59.99.

I really can’t believe how serious this post has become, but unfortunately in thinking about this it seems as though our culture has become reliant on institutions such as Wal-Mart and McDonalds.  Boy is that depressing.  It’s easy for me, along with lots of people I know, to talk about how easy it would be to do away with Wal-Mart by simply not shopping there.  I wish it were that easy for everyone, but the simple truth is…it’s not.  I hope that one day our culture can change…I hope to see my friend, I hope the Pacific Ocean is as blue as it is in my dreams, I hope (I hope that you understand the movie reference here, and that I used it because I am no longer as depressed as I was while writing this post).

One Response to HE SAID: Wal-Mart

  1. KIrk says:

    I hear they have amazing bumble bee costumes for Halloween too

Leave a Reply

