HE SAID: Lazy Sundays

couchDM2405_468x312Lots of people reading this blog may get the impression that I am a lazy, fat slob who does nothing but watch movies and 90210 repeats all day long.  Nothing could be further from the truth.  I go to the gym or play tennis after work about four days a week, and always do something active at least once a weekend.  Granted, my trips to the gym may consist of a half hour run on the eliptical machine (I have shin splints, fuck off) followed by a half hour in the hot tub and steam room, but still…

You should also know on days I don’t make it to the gym I do a little home workout, filled with some jump rope, my ab roller and Iron Gym.  Yes, you read that correct, I own an Iron Gym.  A friend ordered two when he was less than sober one night, I bought one off him at a 50% discount, and now my upper body is jacked.

That being said, I really, REALLY appreciate a lazy Sunday filled with hours on my comfortable suede-like couch and/or movie theater.  Take this past Sunday, for example.  I woke up, had a delicious brunch with friends, watched some Sportscenter/90210 at a buddies place, went to see The Hangover (really effing funny, by the way), then took it on back to my place, where a friend and I watched another movie On Demand, then Game 5 of the NBA Finals.

Many people, especially many Vermonters who think being outside at all times is the be-all and end-all of living life, frown upon this sort of (non)activity.  Does it count for anything that I hiked Mount Mansfield on Saturday?  Listen, I don’t care how people spend their free time.  Some people get back to neutral by hiking or biking, others play golf, some fish, I watch some fucking TV.

It doesn’t matter what the weather is either…if I’ve had a long week of work, had a good amount of alcohol on Friday & Saturday night, done something active on Saturday, I’m going to spend a 78 degree sunny Sunday with the blinds shut and the TV on.  Granted, the Jewish guilt starts to seep in a bit if the weather is indeed perfect, so while I’d rather it be a shitty day, I don’t want to rain on outdoor enthusiasts parade, just do me a favor, and stop shitting on mine.

2 Responses to HE SAID: Lazy Sundays

  1. […] SAID: Texting/Email Abbreviations Jeremy is concerned about coming across as a “lazy, fat slob who does nothing but watch movies and 90210 repeats all day” and I probably come across as an uptight and dour over analyzer.  So, to continue in that vein, […]

  2. […] a show with characters stranded on an island being chased by “the others“, you’ll sit on your couch all day on a beautiful Sunday watching hours of television, you play in multiple leagues in the same fantasy sport … but the Tour can’t hold your […]

Leave a Reply

