HE SAID: Do I Care Too Much about Sports?

Last night the Red Sox were leading in a somewhat meaningless regular season game 10-1 in the 7th inning.  They lost the game 11-10.  Kept me up about an extra hour figuring out the different plays that could have kept the game in the Sox favor.

Six weeks ago the Bruins lost Game 7 in overtime, ending their season in traumatic fashion.  Watched the replays until about 2am.  Truth be told, I don’t even like hockey that much.

The Celtics won their first NBA Title a little over a year ago, causing me to giggle like a school girl for about the next week.  The same week that I sported my Kevin Garnett  T shirt every day.

February 14th, 2008 – The Giants shocked the Patriots in the Super Bowl, ending their perfect season and a chance to be known as the greatest team of all time.  I drank myself into oblivion to drown away my sorrows, and puked 4 times at work the next day.  My boss understood, he is a Pats fan too…guess he just handled his liquor better.

fans

Autumn, 2004 – Red Sox win their first World Series in 86 years, I buy $500 worth of Sox memorabilia online.  I was making $500 a month as a Minor League Baseball Intern.  Oh, yeah, also blew about $200 at a strip club the night they won because I had just moved to Mobile, Alabama and had no friends to celebrate with.

October 17th, 2003 – Aaron Boone sends a shot of Tim Wakefield for a walk off homerun to end Game 7 in somewhat dramatic fashion.  I turn the TV off before the ball lands and fall right asleep.  Surprising, right? I guess I was mentally drained.  Oh, I guess I should also mention I did not leave my shithole of a college apartment for the next 48 hours.

These are just a few of countless examples of the ups and downs of my life in relation to sports.  So I guess I answered my own question, I probably do care too much about sports.  I guess the follow up would be, is that such a bad thing?

Sure I was about as depressed as Owen Wilson when he was reading suicide books in Wedding Crashers after Boone hit that shot, but I was also probably happier than that same movie character when he was banging hot chicks left and right at the beginning of the movie when the Sox won a year later (hmm, maybe the bigger issue I have is constantly comparing my life to movies, but that’s a separate post altogether).

Some people question the passion I have for sports, or how I can watch game 37 of a 162 game baseball season all the way through.  Fuck it, I enjoy it that’s why.  Go watch your cooking shows or American Idol and leave me be.  I don’t judge.

Basically, I needed to write this post because I freaked myself out a bit at how pissed I was at last nights epic collapse by the Sox.  So I used my readers as my therapists.  Thanks for listening.

One Response to HE SAID: Do I Care Too Much about Sports?

  1. john grandits says:

    The same week that I sported by Kevin Garnett T shirt every day.

    typo…

Leave a Reply

