HE SAID: Sports Trades

I could literally write an entire book about this topic…good trades, bad trades, trades my teams have made that make it hard for me to stand up after reading about them, trades that make me throw up in my mouth a little, trades that make me more upset that Bill Buckner was after he…ok enough of that.  Bottom line is that through the last decade, when Boston somehow became the best professional sports city in the country (stop whining everyone else, we have 6 titles in the last 8 years, not to mention countless playoff teams), we have little right to complain.

When our teams make a trade (or in the case of not resigning a free-agent) it is generally in order to improve the team.  Even the Aaron Ward salary dump freed up some money to sign a Defenseman with much higher upside just a few days later.  Imagine being a fan of the Pittsburgh Pirates, who in the last month have traded away half their position players for prospects who aren’t even ready for the major leagues.  Then, when these prospects finally blossom, the Pirates will trade them away for more prospects.  Pirates fans, along with far too many other fans, never even have the opportunity to fall in love with players the way we do. 

Holy crap I think I just wrote those two paragraphs without taking a breath.  I’ll finish by listing the five trades that have had the most impact on me personally the last decade (given the nature of this post, I will only focus on trades in which Boston players left the city, so you won’t be reading about epic trades the Sox made for players like Rico Brogna and Dante Bichette):

5. December 1, 2005 – The Bruins trade Joe Thornton for a bag of hockey pucks and a new zamboni (ok there were a few players, but it was less than .50 on the dollar).  Joe made me a hockey fan again after the trade that happens a few spots down on this list.  When he was traded I couldn’t believe the Bruins had bent me over again, how the eff could we trade a future MVPer for nothing?  Well the Bruins have made some moves since to right the ship, but still this was awful.

4. August 1, 2008- Manny Ramirez traded essentially for Jason Bay.  This has been written about ad nauseum, and if Manny were simply one of the best right handed hitters of this generation, instead of one of the best right handed hitters of this generation who was also fucking nuts, this would be #1.

3. March 6th, 2000 – The Bruins trade Ray Bourque to the Avalanche for who gives a shit what they got back in return, #77 was the Bruins!  Harry Sinden made this deal as a favor because he felt bad for surrounding Ray with suckiness his whole career.  By the way, my fantasy hockey team name is ‘I Hate Harry Sinden.” Yes, you read that correctly, I have a fantasy hockey team.

2. July, 2009 – Julio Lugo traded for Chris Duncan.  Just kidding.  Happy Trails, Julio!

2. April 21, 2002 – Patriots trade Drew Bledsoe to the Bills for a draft pick.  Fresh off a Super Bowl made this trade harder to swallow, but still, this was devastating.  There are plenty of Bledsoe haters out there, and obviously we didn’t need him, but Bledsoe (along with Parcells) turned the fortunes of the Patriots around.  Classy guy that he was, he took a full page ad out in the Boston Globe thanking the Boston fans.

1. August 1, 2004 – Nomar traded.  It was banquet night at summer camp, they were giving out effing riding awards so I took it upon myself to go check out espn.com.  Upon seeing the news I ran back down the dining hall, grabbed the mike, and announced in a very dramatic way that Nomar had been traded. If the interruption of Most Improved for Riding doesn’t warrant the No. 1 spot on this list, I don’t know what does.

One Response to HE SAID: Sports Trades

  1. God says:

    I will forever remember the Joe Thorton trade. My future “fiancee” and I went to the movies to watch “Walk the Line” in Boston. Who sits in front of us but Joe Thorton and some hot bombshell. My future fiancee wouldn’t stop talking about how cute he was. Bottom line next day he was traded and I was laid off from my job! Coincidence? I don’t think so…two great stars at a low moment made it through together and persevered…

Leave a Reply

