HE SAID: Share The Road

See, you have put me in an extremely awkward position here Nifer.  It really seems as if no matter what I say, I will come across as a cynical asshole.  And while those that know me well, know I’m indeed a bit of an asshole, I really don’t want the be labeled cynical as well.  But I’ll try my best…

It breaks down like this – when it comes to the relationship between driver and road biker, there are a certain percentage of drivers that suck, and a certain percentage of road bikers that suck.  Since I have found myself on a bike about as many times as I have had serious relationships since I got my drivers license (you don’t need all the fingers on one hand), I can only speak from the driver’s perspective.

I can honestly say that I have a good working relationship with the common roadbiker.  It is in my experience that the common roadbiker adheres to the rules of “Sharing the Road.” I’m not entirely sure what those rules are, but seems to me the major one is: I’ll do my best to stay out of your way, you do your best to stay out of mine.”  And I honestly feel like most drivers are the same way, but inevitably, as in all walks of life, there are exceptions to the rule.

I have found that most exceptions, in this case, tend to be couples that are biking together.  Two dudes cruising along tend to follow the normal rules, man and wife do not.  Man and wife like to ride side by side in the road, and even in my Lezbaru Forrester I can not pass them without putting at least half my car into the other lane.  Luckily, in Vermont, even this blatant disregard for “Share the Road” etiquette has little negative affect for me as a driver, because in most cases no cars are coming from the other direction.  But I’m not sure that’s the point.

I’m pretty big in principal.  I know the two of you want to look cool in your matching Lance Armstrong outfits (or since you are probably even trendier, your Alberto Contador get ups), and you want to tell the world that you do everything together, but please…just ride behind one another.  First of all, it is incredibly dangerous, and secondly it makes you look really fucking lame.

And another thing…riding a bicycle is not exactly a safe sport.  So do me a favor and put away your damned Iphone while you are road biking.  None of us are in dire need to see some artsy shot of the sky, or the ground as you ride past it.  Actually I take some of that back, if you have a good shot to take, by all means, do it and post it on twitter or wherever for all I care, just pull the fuck over first.

Editors Note: Immediately after publishing this post, I texted Nifer to inform her it was live.  Knowing she is on a ride today, I figured I wouldn’t hear back.  10 seconds later I received, “Sweet! 20 miles in.” Think she pulled over to tell me?

2 Responses to HE SAID: Share The Road

  1. hesaidandshesaid says:

    Jeremy, I never text while on a serious hill climb.

  2. Jamie says:

    With all the paving going on in VT why doesn’t the State get it together and add an additional 6″ outside the white lines. Think of the extra out-of-state bike touring $’s this could help generate. Better/safer roads for bikers means more $ for local businesses.

Leave a Reply

