HE SAID: Unemployment

Remember back in 2nd or 3rd grade, when you were supposed to figure out what you want to be when you grow by answering the question, “Well what would you do if you had $1,000,000?”  Most people said something along the lines of “fireman,” “vet,” “hairdresser,” or in Snoop’s case, “I wanna be a muthafuckin hustler.”

In my case, I blatantly lied when I said, “Doctor.”  Actually, it wasn’t really a lie because when I said it I meant it, I wanted to follow in the footsteps of my father and his father.  But then I got to high school, realized I hated biology and chemistry more than I hated Hebrew School and realized being a doctor might be kind of tough without taking Organic Chemistry later on down the road.  On top of that, I realized I was incredibly fucking lazy when it came to work.  I got pretty good grades because I was smart, I didn’t have to work hard for them.

Yada yada yada, I graduated college, worked relatively hard (and by ‘hard’ I mean simply not a lot of vacation time), got into grad school and figured I’d take the month of September to A. get back in the academic world and b. find a part time job.  We’ll I’ve come to the realization that I really don’t want any type of job at all.  I have 9 hours of class a week, and about 5 hours of homework a week.  You know what that leaves me with?  Lots of fucking free time.  Free time to play some tennis, go on hikes, sit by the pool, watch an entire season of Sons of Anarchy, etc etc etc etc etc etc etc.

Some of you may know this, or may have learned this through reading our blog, but I’ve lived a very compartmentalized life so far, in the sense that I typically like to have every part of my day/eve/week planned out.  Well, not anymore.  There is pure and utter joy waking up around 9 am, enjoying a bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios, lowering my cholesterol, having a hot cup of coffee and realizing that I have jack shit to do today.  I’m realizing that adult life is very similar to school life…only in school you make an effort to achieve high grades, and in adult life you make an effort to make money (I’m not being shallow, for single people like myself making decent money is the primary goal, and for families making money is a goal simply to provide for the family.  For those who still think I’m being shallow, fuck off you probably don’t know me).

Well, as previously discussed, I didn’t have to try very hard to attain decent grades…so my question is – is there any way I can not try very hard and make decent money? Because, instead of spending all day looking through the classifieds for a meaningless job I’d much rather watch a rerun of 90210, have some lunch, go for a hike, play some tennis, go out for dinner and a drink or two, watch the Red Sox game, and go to sleep.  Repeat.

3 Responses to HE SAID: Unemployment

  1. Alison G says:

    I completely agree with everything you had said – not only did I just walk outside to sit on my porch to enjoy coffee and honey nut cheerios – no joke – BUT all summer I have mastered delaying my adult life and as you know, moved to the beach! I waitress a few hours a day 4 or 5 times a week and have a blast at the restaurant – meet lots of crazy people, and when it’s all said and done, I can sleep until 10am if I want, have lots of free time & get at least one free meal a day!
    Congrats on realizing that its ok NOT to bust-ass all day everyday working and making lots of money… plus looking for a job is pretty much a job in itself – so good luck!
    MISS YOU!!!

  2. I bet your father and his father are really proud of you.

  3. hesaidandshesaid says:

    you mean for going to grad school and pursuing my dream? yes they are. quite proud in fact.

Leave a Reply

