HE SAID: MAPLE SYRUP

So, Nifer…just because some beyotch with a publisher confirmed the fact that all those who look down upon table syrup are syrup snobs, doesn’t vindicate or justify your actions.  Besides, with the numbers our blog has been posting lately, I bet more people know you are a syrup snob than the barefoot contessa, or whoever else published that manual of food snobbery.

Wow, sorry. That was a rough start.  Maybe it’s because I realized I’m already halfway through my Friday, which means I’m approximately 1/6 through my typical weekend.

In the interest of full disclousure, I tend to agree with Nifer here, and had pretty much the same upbringing…except I didn’t really convert fully to real syrup until I moved up here.  The main difference between us though is that I can tolerate shitty syrup, but only if it is the only option, and only because I really fucking love pancakes.  Depending on my location however, it would not be out of the question for me to purchase real syrup to use.  For example, I was with a friend who ordered chocolate chip pancakes (for those wondering, we were about 18, not 8).  When informed they had run out of chocolate chips, he went next door to the village market, purchased a bag, and let the diner go to town.  While not related directly to syrup, clearly my example has something to do with pancakes, and I would go to the same lenghts to enjoy my pancakes.

In fact, given my parental units penchance for all things health, I frequently give them realy VT syrup as a gift, if only so I can use it when I am visiting.  And I know my father likes to use it as well, even if my mother will glare at him for using more than a teaspoon.

The thing that really frustrates me about this post is that I can’t for the life of me recall the brand of fake syrup I used as a kid.  Nowadays in my parent’s kitchen is a small bottle of real syrup, and Aunt Jemima.  But back in the day it was a plastic bottle, with a green cap…I’ve even googled “fake syrup” and I can’t find it.  It wasn’t AJ, it wasn’t Log Cabin, if anyone has any clue please feel free to comment.

I’ll wrap up by making the point that I, unlike my co-writer, do not look down at all upon those who use fake syrup.  Too much of it simply depends on how you are brought up, and what’s made available to you.  I use real maple syrup, but the thickness of 2% milk makes me want to puke in my mouth.  I was raised on skim.  Maybe that’s a whole different post…

One Response to HE SAID: MAPLE SYRUP

  1. You write: “fucking love pancakes”

    Your use of expletives adds nothing to your prose — and offends countless potential (and former) readers of your otherwise interesting ideas.

Leave a Reply

