HE SAID: Starbucks VIA™

Unfortunately Nifer, I think this is merely a case of your naivety.  I don’t mean that in a bad way…there is a sense of eternal optimism in your post that while endearing, is simply not realistic.  Back to that in a minute.

First I’ll launch my defense of the Keurig One Cup coffee maker, which is something that has changed my life along the lines of Netflix, satellite radio, and DVR.  In other words, the Keurig has really helped develop me as a person (ok, a bit strong, I’m trying to make a point).  The key with the Keurig is brewing the right amount and using the right kind.  Most of the Green Mountain Coffee cups suck, however there are many other brands making the single cups nowadays.

For example, while I type I’m enjoying a cup of strong Tully’s Italian Roast right now.  In addition, you can even buy a reusable filter for them and use whatever type of coffee you want (not to mention, that option is much better for the environment)!  Finally, I will admit that if you brew the largest cup available, it is a bit weak…so if you need a big travel mug, much more convenient to brew back to back jacks of the small or medium option (which still takes less time than a regular coffee maker).  Clearly, I’ve digressed.

“Starbucks was founded in the early seventies as a premier coffee bean company dedicated not only to providing top-quality beans to its customers, but also to educating them about great coffee” (Knight, 2009).  By the way, APA Format and MLA format can go eff themselves.  Nifer, I think what you meant to say was, “Starbucks was founded in the early seventies as a premier coffee bean company dedicated not only to providing top-quality beans to its customers, but also to educating them about great coffee. making shitloads and shitloads of money.”  I don’t care what the book you read claimed about the founding of Starbucks, if the underlying theme wasn’t about getting rich, it was a lie.

Small businesses are created for two reasons…typically passion and money.  More often than not, it is a combination of the two.  Living in Vermont, we have been exposed to this.  Ben & Jerry were clearly passionate about their ice cream, and social justice, and using the money they made from ice cream to promote social justice…and finally selling the business for millions of dollars.

It’s the same with Starbucks, and that’s the reason for this new instant coffee…I’m sure they have done research and think they have the potential to make even more money.  And you know what? I’m ok with that.  Mainly because it does not affect me one way or the other.  Although, I hope this does not drive them out of business, because while I am not a fan of their coffee, their MEDIUM Tazo Chai Tea Latte really gets my engine going.

One Response to HE SAID: Starbucks VIA™

  1. Rolando says:

    I really enjoyed this post. Corporations exist to make money as much as they do to support a passion or cause.

Leave a Reply

