SHE SAID: Alex Rodriguez (aka A-Rod)

Derek Jeter and Alex Rodriguez are both great players for the Yankees.  And yet, while A-Rod is detested outside of New York,  Jeter is widely respected for both his love of the game and his respect for the game.  A-Rod is often involved in dramatic plays (the slapping of the glove being one of them) and is even nicknamed “the cooler” due to his negative influence on his team’s morale.  What’s more, and I have to confess that I loved this, the guy is to clutch what Madonna is to abstinence.  That was before this fall.

a-rod ass grab

A-Rod annoys me on another level though.  Like Celine Dion, who manages to be even more annoying than A-Rod, he thinks he is way cooler and infinitely hotter than he is.  Of course, this is all my perception since we have never exchanged any words and only one of us knows the other exists, but I’m still going to throw that out there.  To support my claim, his quote from SI: “When people write [bad things] about me, I don’t know if it’s [because] I’m good-looking, I’m biracial, I make the most money, I play on the most popular team.”  That’s getting a little Jessica Biel-ish (remember when she claimed her good looks where what kept her from scoring decent movie roles?), and then continuing onto arrogant and out of touch.

I liked it when the one thing I could count on was, come post-season, A-Rod would tank and if nothing else, I could consider karma working it’s magic as he struggled to make a meaningful contribution to his team’s results.  And now, now that his home runs were key to the Yankees continuing from the ALCS to the World Series and securing that win, now I feel like a bitter Red Sox fan who has a long winter of rebuilding hope to look forward to.  And while that’s nothing I’m not used to, I’ll miss being able to revel in A-Rod’s postseason collapse while I’m doing it.

One Response to SHE SAID: Alex Rodriguez (aka A-Rod)

  1. Jenny M says:

    I’m with you, Nifer. A-rod is a poser. Note how he misses ground balls that he could get if he just got a little dirty. I bet he practices his batting stance in the mirror! And he chews gum like a cow chewing it’s cud.

Leave a Reply

