SHE SAID: Women’s Gear

I have a bone to pick with whoever is designing women’s active clothing.  Actually, scratch that.  I have a bone to pick with whoever is designing anything specifically marketed towards women.

Flowers are pretty.  I like flowers.  I like to grow them, smell them, look at them.  I have nothing against flowers, but I don’t need them plastered all over my clothing, skis, bike, etc.  I don’t feel the need to advertise or defend the fact that I’m female while I’m getting some exercise or getting outside with friends.

I don’t even mind the whole, (fill-in-the-blank) like a girl, campaign.   I don’t have the sticker on my car, mind you, but I think it’s cool.  And after years of being told to emulate the guys, I think it’s great that my nieces are growing up proud of what their female influences are capable of doing and what they themselves are capable of doing.

This is not an anti-female rant or an anti-female-specific-gear rant. Although, I do think that a lot of companies realized a way to make an extra buck and started making lines that were geared towards women.  But, I also realize that despite how strong I like to think I am, I know most of my guy friends could pin me if I were to challenge them to a wrestling match.  Thus, I am aware that men and women have different needs apparel and equipment wise.

And while I think the occasional detailing is cool, I’m okay without little flowers, swirls, hearts and whatever else is so incredibly stereo-typical female oriented printed all over my stuff. While I like fur detailing on some of my hoods, I don’t need it on them all.  And, please, designers, we don’t necessarily want all pastel colored clothes either.  I can still ski like a girl without a fur-lined pink coat covered in flowers.  You’re not putting hammers and horns all over the products geared towards men.  So why the double standard?  Is it so hard to refrain?

At this point, I feel like it’s crossing the line from cute to mildly offensive.

2 Responses to SHE SAID: Women’s Gear

  1. God says:

    I’m not opposed to floral patterns, the are usually used to detail gear, i think it looks hot and cute. I also think that most girls don’t mind looking cute,
    even when working out.
    Further more, the talent pool in the “swimming hole” may leave a lot to be desired but the gyms in cities are like bars, a great place to meet women, and ladies feel the same way about finding a man. So a girl wants to stand out and look cute sometime in the gym and I think the markets recognize it.
    Plus you know the other person is taking care of themselves and that is hot even if they are on the bike reading US magazine in a floral onesie.
    Here’s to flower power!

  2. Dan says:

    i’m not sure Jeremy could pin you.

Leave a Reply

