HE SAID: MTV

As I too often do, I found myself getting nostaligc last night, and in an effort to avoid studying for a final (which I’m furter doing by writing this post), I was watching old music videos on youtube.  Seriously, watch this video, power players like Chris Cornell and Eddie Vedder, singing together on a beach and in front of a bonfire. Epic.  Then I remembered my first experience with MTV.

When I was but a young pup, and MTV was not part of normal cable packages, they offered a free preview weekend.  My father, recorded a two-hour VHS tape of it for me.  Was it filled with shitty reality shows?  No, it was filled with music videos.  Terrific music videos like Jump by Van Halen (David Lee Roth era, eff you Sammy Hagar) & You Might Think by the Cars (talk about creepy).  Now, even back then it was not music videos 24 hours a day.

The first non-video music related show I can remember was Remote Control.  That show kicked some ass.  Talk about programming that was ahead of it’s time, at least for me anyway.  It was a quiz show that focused on music and movies, I would have rocked that like Tiger rocked that fire hydrant.  It also helped launch the careers of Adam Sandler and Colin Quinn.

Then came Real World, or as I like to call it, “The Beginning of the End.”  That is not to say Real World, at least the first half dozen seasons or so, was not entertaining.  Eric (from season 1 later starring in MTV’s The Grind) taught me my original definition of the word D-Bag, Stephen taught me the proper way to slap a woman (just kidding…although there may have been a few slaps thrown my sisters way at one point in time, when we were young, promise), and finally Puck taught me that it was ok to be a homophobe.  Ok ok…so maybe lessons learned from the Real World were not terrific, but luckily I have not turned into an abuser or a homophobe, d-bag still pending.

Since that show was so successful, it lead to the demise of MTV (and perhaps the demise of all tv with all the shitty reality shows).  Check out some of the programming that has been on MTV – The Osbournes, Pimp My Ride, Undressed, Newlyweds, Real World (seasons 10-whatever effing number they are on today), RW/RR Challenge, The Ashlee Simpson Show, Laguna Beach, The Hills, My Super Sweet 16, Punk’d, and Two-A-Days.  If you are wondering – Yes, I had to look those up.

I realize that I’m leaving out some entertaining stuff, like Beavis & Butthead and the Tom Green Show.  That’s not my point, those shows can be supplemental to cool music videos.  Instead of supplemental to other shit TV programming.  Of course, cool music videos would require cool music, and considering for the most part that doesn’t happen too much anymore, we might be screwed.

Leave a Reply

