HE SAID: White? Or Colored?

First off, thanks for not posting during my Hanukah season, it was a welcome break.  Secondly, have you put any thought into the title of this post Nifer?  Hopefully we don’t get a ton of white supremacists reading our blog.  Actually, who am I kidding, we need the readership.

I know this is a bit of a cop out, but the simple answer your Christmas query is there is no answer.  It’s kind of like Mounds and Almond Joy, sometimes you feel like a nut, sometimes you don’t.  Even though most people probably assume I shouldn’t have any say in this matter, and that I grew up a lonely Jew on Christmas, you are blatantly wrong.  Up until the age of about 7 we had a little plastic tree that we used to decorate and my brother and I would open up a few presents Christmas morning.  Then my sister was born, and for some reason, we stopped doing it.  So, like most fun things I experienced when I was young, my sister managed to ruin.  Yet I digress…

There was a house in my hometown growing up that used to go all Clark Griswold on us and decorate the shit out of it for every holiday.  For Christmas, they used multi-cultural lights (‘colored’ is not very pc anymore I believe).  I used to drive by it every day and was absolutely entralled by the site of it.  I even remember saying to my father at the age of 5, “wow, this house is absolutely enthralling to drive by.” I had a very advanced vocabulary.  It has somewhat regressed.  I would venture to guess that by about the age of 13, I thought it was incredibly tacky.  Of course, the Christmas when I was 13 was just a couple of months after I became a man (my Bar Mitzvah was that October, I didn’t become a real man until much, much later unfortunately).

Personally, I’m still at the current stage…I prefer the simplicity of classic white lights.  I don’t mind a few blue ones sprinkled in, but I think something like this, while impressive, is obtrusive and lame.  But at the same time, I can’t really be upset or angry at anyone who chooses to do that.  Isn’t that what the holiday season is all about?  The non commercial aspect of it anyway.  Wow, that made me sound very idealistic, but I don’t care.

At the end of the day, do whatever the eff you want when it comes to decorating your house, tree or RV for all I care.  Although I will finish by saying if you have children, their opinion should count for more, unless that child is color blind, in which case it shouldn’t count at all.

Leave a Reply

