HE SAID: Our Song

First off, I’d like to note that Nifer’s throw in line “why couldn’t I have some more legendary artists in there to keep Eddie and Kurt company?” is an effing sham.  She only wrote that after I read her draft and told her, “just an FYI, I’m going to rip you a new a-hole for claiming Pearl Jam & Nirvana aren’t legendary.”  I shouldn’t have given her the chance.  Bottom line is, to lump Eddie Vedder and Kurt Cobain in the same ‘non-legendary’ catergory as Steve Miller and Ja Rule is lamer than having a song.  Even lamer – correcting that mistake after the fact so you don’t appear to be too much of a musical loser.

Speaking of lame, you know what song defines me, this one –

There really isn’t much else to say on the matter.  90% of the people who know me somewhat well, would most likely answer the question “what song defines Jeremy?” with “Total Eclipse of the Heart.”  I don’t need to go into detail about how, or why, just accept it.  Because at the end of the day, Bonnie Tyler wrote one helluva song back in ’83.

But there are other snippets of my life I’ll allow you into:

My father, legend that he is, bought the Pearl Jam album ‘Ten’ because they had a song named after me.  Little did he know 6 years later I’d be spending over $100 on a few t-shirts at my first concert.

Eric Clapton’s ‘Wonderful Tonight’ reminds me of the first time I danced with a girl when I was 9.  Her name was Caroline, she was 12.  She gave me a peck on the cheek after the song was over…yada yada yada…I learned what the word ‘obsession’ meant that summer.  It’s all good though, we are facebook friends today!

For those with their mind in the gutter, there was no music on the first time I had sex.  And even if there was, unless it was a commercial jingle, NO WAY was the song going to finish.

I used to listen to ‘Machinehead’ by Bush before any tennis match I had during my later teenage years.  Hmm, I wonder if that had anything to do with me getting worse as time went on.

Powderfinger, Avril Lavigne and Phantom Planet bring me back to summer 2002.  Why do I mention this? Just to show Nifer that it doesn’t how ‘legendary’ an artist is, so long as they are legendary to you.

And because I struggle to end so cheesily, “Hallelujah” by Jeff Buckley brings me back to October of 2004.  The opening line of the song is, “I heard there was a secret chord, that David played and it pleased the lord…” Do I need to explain myself here? I hope not, but lets just say I played the opening moments to that song every time #34 stepped up to bat that postseason.  I like to think I am responsible for the Red Sox winning that World Series.

2 Responses to HE SAID: Our Song

  1. Ian says:

    Jeremy,
    It’s really time you gave up on this duet. It gives me nightmares. and now it’s on youtube…scary

  2. U of R says:

    No Casey and Jo Jo – All My Life?

Leave a Reply

