SHE SAID: Highlights of my Ski Season

I’m writing this from Florida after spending endless days on the beach, in the never ending sun.  In short, my ski season couldn’t be further from my mind.  I’m having trouble remembering what day it is, and that it’s not August.

1. My son’s first run on the Mountain, or more accurately, up the Quad since he’s been slaying the Gondola since last winter.  Sharing my love of skiing with him has always been one of my favorite things, but sharing a ride up the Quad and bracing ourselves for the wind when the lift crests the top was far and away the highlight of my season.  Now if I could convince him that Toll Road wasn’t the best run …

snow igloo2. This isn’t a highlight of my season on skis, but in one 12 hour period we got 32 inches of snow.  I hear it was awesome up on the mountain.  All my potential sitters were skiing, so the little man and I spent the day building igloos, behemoth snowmen and jumping off of stuff into snowbanks.

3. Another highlight would have to be Valentine’s Day when some friends and I skinned up the Toll Road from the bottom, reaching Mansfield’s Octagon at 4:30 and skiing down the Bruce Trail only to finish the day with beers and pizza at the Matterhorn.  I feel like we hit up all the legendary Stowe spots in a matter of hours.

4. Getting the hell out of Stowe and apparently from Jeremy’s bowel movements that he feels the need to mention as often as possible.  Who are we kidding?!  We live in Vermont.  It’s cold, rarely snowy, or snowy enough to consider the conditions powder, and often times the conditions are colder than desirable and icy as all hell.  I mean, even if the conditions weren’t so typically Eastern, the mountain is small and the mountain company likes to stomp out potential excitement and challenging terrain by grooming the mountain to be accessible to all, no matter the trail rating.  You pay too much, wait too long in line, and have to offer up your first born in order to get a cup of weak Green Mountain Coffee (aka swill).  My last highlight would have to be getting the hell out of Stowe as frequently as possible and experiencing something other than ice, wind and cold.  I was thrilled to wake up to a weather report that didn’t include the phrase “wind chill” or an inflated or completely fabricated new snowfall.

One Response to SHE SAID: Highlights of my Ski Season

  1. Marina says:

    Woo hoo and Amen! Especially about the weak-as-hell coffee – can we even call it that? So down on VT though. That said, the beach does sound good.

Leave a Reply

