SHE SAID: Passive Aggressiveness

I’m surprised, given that I’m a woman and Jeremy is Jewish, that we haven’t covered this topic yet, but a certain Facebook post today provided me with some inspiration to post.

HeSaid’s status? “maybe i feel the need to be more diversified because i no longer have a blog partner.”

It’s all there.  The cry for pity.  The posturing.  And the zinger.

There’s only one thing to say: he’s a pro.  And you thought he was all about 90210 mourning and Brett Favre ruminating.

And to a certain extent, it seems that as a woman, it is either expected from me, or accepted and tolerated from my sex.  The classic example is the woman who gets mad at her spouse or significant other for not reading her mind.  It happens, I know people like that – the idea isn’t coming from thin air.

And yes, I have been delinquent.  That’s putting it nicely.  If this was my job I would have been fired months ago.  I realize that.  It’s there, in the back of my mind.  My dropping this blog like a my son dropped playmobile when he discovered Star Wars.

But I was not expecting it from my blog partner, despite his being Jewish. I’m kidding.   And all I mean from that is that the stereotype is there, think George Costanza’s mother on Seinfeld.  But Jeremy going to such great and very public lengths to get my attention instead of calling, texting, emailing, IM-ing me to get my ass in gear and post was not expected.

And the worst part of this passive aggressive attack?  It worked.  Because I posted.  You’d think after years of exposure I would have been able to resist.

Leave a Reply

