SHE SAID: Glee

Live blogging throughout a life changing event or at least a highly suspenseful event is pretty cool – just having the option to go back and see how you were digesting an event in real time is pretty interesting.

I remember Bill Simmons live blogging some pretty monumental Red Sox games.  The Go Fug Yourself girls documenting the live happenings during fashion week.  Jeremy and I are going to go with an episode of Glee.

Intro: I hate it when I get thrown into a show mid-season.  I have no idea who anyone here is … but there are a lot of awkward characters and three pretty hot cheerleaders.  Oh, and the guy from that show…that I’m blanking on.

*I had to pause and look into it.  And no, I’m confusing the unmemorable and wholesome male lead, Cory Monteith, with Chris Klein.  Ha.

1:07: The cheerleader and Sam share a glance as he enters the room. unimpressive foreshadowing forced down throat.

1:45 Awkward student’s exchange – this reminds me of Dawson’s Creek in that NO ONE in high school actually talked that way to each other.

4:47 – “undisputed top bitches at this school” – ahh, I was in an a cappella group.  While there were some talented and awesome people in the group, I don’t recall anyone being nominated for the coveted top bitch position.

5:46 – first musical number is a duet with drummer that’s not Chris Klein and dark haired chick.  I’m going to puke.  This is terrible.  Although I love the back up drummer ready to step in when not Chris Klein decides he just wants to DANCE!

9:50 – God this show is stupid.

10:36 – Male shower scene.  Combined with the lesbian cheerleader scene earlier this show is definitely working off the theory about high schoolers only being interested in sex.  Sex and randomly interspersed musical numbers.

13:20 – Are all these characters token stereotypes?

15:22 – Okay, that was actually a decent exchange between the father and his gay son.  Dad had some good insights.

15:40 – And another musical number.

18:15 – And another shower scene.

21:34 – A duet sung by one person.  Dressed as a divided soul.  I’ve figured out what Jeremy should be for Halloween.

30:05 – Do they always wear the cheerleading uniforms?  I didn’t go to a normal high school, so I have no idea if this is what happens.  But if they do have to wear it every day that means either a lot of laundry, or a closet full of uniforms.

31:40 – And another musical number.  I keep hoping each one will be the last.

33:40 – The blond duet.  I was guessing Jack Johnson.  Turns out it’s Jason Mraz’s Lucky.  I was close.  This is the second time this song was ruined for me, if we’re not counting the first time I heard it and threw up in my mouth.

41:04 – And we switch from the accordion to some piano and strings when the blond dinner turns into a date.  All he needed to do was admit his terrible dark secret that he dies his hair.

41:35 – I was wondering when the scene montage to a duet was going to happen.

Bottom Line: This show clearly has an audience, and while most of it is over acted, and sung, there are some good moments in there.  I find it strangely appealing, but no, I’m not adding it to my DVR list.

Leave a Reply

