SHE SAID: Winter

Being in Vermont in the winter is usually not that bad. We don’t get the wind whipping through the buildings off the water like Chicago.  We aren’t isolated for weeks whenever there is a large snowfall (although, one time, about 4 years ago there was a crazy storm and people were skiing to the grocery store or to try and locate a snow plow).  And despite cold temps we are still able to get out and enjoy all the awesomeness right outside the front door even if it means putting on two pairs of long underwear, fleece, wool, down and gore-tex.  I do have an issue with the fact that on the few occasions when the sun is shining and there isn’t a cloud in the sky it always, always coincides with a high of -20, but there’s not really anything I can do about that other than write a strongly worded blog post.  Another time.

Jeremy and I didn’t coordinate before writing, but I’m wearing almost the same thing.  The only difference is my cashmere instead of his flannel.  More expensive, but it’s also softer, and warmer and I don’t feel like I’m making a tribute to the mid-nineties when I’m wearing it.

In that light, I would like to give recognition to some of my other cold weather staples.

My microwave booties.  I have no idea who makes you, and no idea how you came into my life, but when we ran out of oil last month and it was 45 degrees inside the house, I was singing your praises.

The Champion sweatpants that I have claimed as mine.  You know the old ones that are at least ten years old and make you look about 30 pounds heavier.  I live in those in the winter once I’ve come home from work.

Heated seats in my car.  I was all ready to buy a car last summer until my mother pointed out that it lacked heated seats.  Needless to say, I walked on that one.  I chalk up my stupidity on that one to the fact that it was summer and I wasn’t in winter mode, but it’s still a rookie move.  I would like to make heated steering wheels standard on any car with heated seats.  It can’t be that hard to throw a wire in the steering wheel.

Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, hot toddies.  There is nothing like holding on to a hot cup of something with both hands when you’re cold.  Preferably while you’re donning some sweet microwave booties and ringing for the butler to bring you more bon bons.

The hot dog roll.  Take a blanket and spread it out on the floor.  Position yourself on one end of the blanket stomach up so it comes up to your armpits (you can do it under your neck, but I prefer being able to use my arms).  Commence rolling.

Hot showers.  I know it’s bad.  I know water consumption should be limited.  But when I’m freezing, I love a hot shower.  Scaldingly hot.  I like to think I make it up to the planet by being super conscientious in other environmentally friendly areas…

Wool socks.  I use ones knit by my grandmother.  You’re probably thinking at this point, wow, she’s hot.  And it’s true.  Between the booties, the sweats and the huge blanket I’m quite a vision in the evenings.

And last, but certainly not least: the man sharing my bed.  Oh how I love your patience with the icicles that are my toes.

Leave a Reply

