HE SAID: Taxes

Now, I’m writing this after gathering all my information for the 2010 Tax year, making sure I have everything in order, and calculating things I can write off. Take into account that I don’t even do my own taxes, I simply hand all this stuff off to my CPA, and realize that I am still beyond frustrated by this process. Oh, let’s not forget that I will eventually receive a nice little check from Uncle Sam (being a homeowner and a student has its’ benefits), and I am still ready to punch the effing wall. So, I guess my point is…if I am annoyed, even though compared to most I have very little right to be, what about the general public? In the words of a frequent reader of this blog…

“answer me this…I pay the govt so much of my pay check every month…it is a lot, how do I STILL owe them more money? i fu*&ing hate it
don’t get married, and rent, you get so screwed, or have a good job”

Hmm, sounds like he is real enamored with our government. Now, this is not a referendum on taxes or the Obama administration. I was into politics for three years of my undergraduate career, and that was only because it was probably the easiest major at my institution of “higher” education. My only argument is with the process itself.

I realize they have things like TurboTax out there and companies like H&R Block to make things easier, but even looking at the questionnaire my accountant sends me freaks me out. Why are there so many goddamn lines involved in preparing taxes? Why can’t the questions be simple? I am a smart guy, not a genius by any means, but most that know me would probably describe me as ‘intelligent.’ When I start to look at tax stuff I feel like a typical American trying to explain the rules of cricket (why do some games take 5 effing days?!).

Was the system created to help fund accountants and tax lawyers (after all I’m sure I’ll need one after getting audited because I’m sure Big Brother is reading this post)? Think about it…if filling out your tax form were “ritard” proof, there would be thousands upon thousands of people without jobs. But it’s not, instead taxes are more complicated than the SAT’s. So until the system changes, I’m happy to give some business to my CPA, because who knows, maybe in the future, a future where taxes would take 5 minutes to complete, a future where a good friend doesn’t tell me not to get married or a get a good job, a future where I do get laid on a regular basis (hmm, how’d that sneak in there)…there will no longer be a need for accountants.

Leave a Reply

